Author Topic: Comments from a long term webmaster  (Read 7219 times)

Offline cannedfool

• SanStef Regular
  • You cant can this fool!
    • View Profile
    • cannedfool.org - coming soon
Comments from a long term webmaster
« on: July 18, 2009, 10:03:00 PM »
So im new to ss.co.uk and i have spent a lot of time in the past few days reading the posts. As long running webmaster of a number of forums (as long as my 24 year life will let me) there are only a few things ide change.

1) General Chat Board

This forum really needs a place were the long term/Active members can post what ever they like. Everyone seems to like a little banter but many complain about hijacked threads. With a place for people to just chat and have fun it would mean that more important posts may not get lost in the mix.

2) Website updates

I understand our webmaster may not have all the time in the world to edit the site. One thing i do find is there's a lot of information on the boards which would be very useful on the site. I know 90% of my questions were answered here rather that ss.co.uk itself.  Who ever the web master is ide guess he/she has a few friends here who might help. Most questions are answered here anyway so it wouldn't be that hard to update the pages.

(on a personal note, upgrade to SMF v2 its much more stable (even being a beta) and has a wide range of quality features. I know it says not for production sites but honestly i have upgraded a few sites and its well worth it. OW and touch wood i have had no sql/hacking attacks).

3) Gallery

I'm sure that many of you have amazing photos of ss, some you may wish to share. A simple mySQL gallery would enhance a greater sense of community here. Ide like to see picture of people having fun in SS (if only to give more appeal to people like myself who have never been). Also it would mean if i saw you out and about in SS ide know who you are and maybe make a new friend.